SIGURD, ROLAND, THE PRINCES OF IRELAND, AND THE ICELANDIC SAGAS

I’ve been sick the past couple of days. Caught my wife’s cold. Didn’t sleep at all last night. Slept a little today.

On the upside of all of that I’ve been able to start my October Reading early.

I have four books in particular that I began last night and that I’m really looking forward to reading up until Halloween.

Sigurd and Gudrun – Tolkien’s retelling of the Volsungs. Seigfried was one of the first three books I ever checked out and read from the library on my own (in 2nd or 3rd grade), and I not long ago finished Tolkien’s alliterative rendering of The Fall of Arthur. Which was absolutely fantastic and has rekindled my interest in alliterative poetry. So I’m really looking forward to this. The magical sword Gram was the basis of the magical sword in my own writings, Wrothcholire.

Chanson de Roland – The Song of Roland (about Roland and the Paladins of Charlemagne) was the second book I ever checked out of the library to read on my own. I haven’t re-read it in years but I got a superb English Medieval Library copy of the work and look forward to it greatly. Roland’s sword Durandal also had a big effect on me (as did the Oliphant) while I was growing up and I also incorporated many of its properties into Wrothcholire.

The Princes of Ireland – This is historical fiction (a genre I greatly enjoy reading) and I have heard many very good things about the author, Edward Rutherfurd. I hope he is as good in his own way as Patrick O’Brian was with the Jack Aubrey books.

The Sagas of the Icelanders – I have recently been enjoying Mike Drout’s excellent lecture series on The Norsemen. When he got to the sections on the Vikings and the Poet Serial Killers it made me want to re-read the Icelandic Sagas. So I got a good copy that is a mix of the various types of Sagas. I haven’t started it yet but will tomorrow. I haven’t read the Icelandic Sagas since college. I’m interested to see what I will notice now I did not notice when I was a young kid at college.

Well, I suspect that my fiction and literature reading for October will be excellent indeed.

Good night

About Jack

BRIEF BIO: Jack Gunter is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and songs. He is the co-owner of Open Door Communications, a copywriter, an inventor, and a former broker and private investigator. He is a naturalist and an amateur scientist and cryptologist. He likes to compose music and to design and play games and puzzles of all types. He homeschooled his children. He lives in the Upstate of South Carolina with his beautiful wife, talented two daughters, his old friend and Great Dane Sam, and his three Viking Cats.

Posted on October 1, 2014, in Book, Commentary, Education/Training, History, Information, Literature, MY WRITINGS AND WORK, Myth, Non-Fiction, Real World, Recreation, Scholarship, Uncategorized, Writings and Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are officially the second person I have come across to have read Sigurd & Gudrun, and that probably includes Christopher Tolkien. 😛

    Seriously though, that list is right up my alley. Ever read The Vóluspa?

    Like

    • The Seerage Saga? If I remember that correctly. Not since college.

      Unfortunately the book I just got is entirely the Folk and People Sagas.

      After I read the Fall of Arthur I decided I would definitely read Sigurd and Gudrun. It has not disappointed. It is a more primitive lay and structure than Arthur but awfully good. Take this for instance:

      Dread shapes arose
      From the dim spaces
      over sheer mountains
      by the Shoreless Sea,
      friends of darkness,
      foes immortal,
      old, unbegotten,
      out of ancient void.

      Stop by anytime. Appreciated your comments.

      Also I really liked your blog. So I’m following you by RSS.

      Like

Leave a Reply

