A HOARD DID I ENCOUNTER – THE LYRE’S SONG

The other day someone on a message board asked me what kind of song(s) I would compose for my new Bard (Talisfar) character to use during play. This is the song I wrote – to be played upon the lyre.

 

A HOARD DID I ENCOUNTER – THE LYRE’S SONG

My gentle lords and ladies fill now up your cups
I’ll sing to you of ransom even as you sup
Far away in foreign lands I chanced upon a hoard
It was buried in the Earth full of rich reward

A cairn did I encounter, eat up now be free!
I’ll tell you of the horror I alone did see
A dreadful restless spirit lingered hard nearby
I sought a way around it, no passage could I find

I sat upon the cold earth pondering my fate
Sleep descended on me even as I ate
Tired I grew unnaturally, close the air did seem
Songs did fill the moonless night, the spirit so did sing

Fatigue did overtake me as the spirit sang
I realized only all too late the spirit’s trap had sprang
I was at her mercy; her cold touch fell on me
To all I was oblivious with no hope to flee

I do not know how I escaped, why she spared me so
She let me keep my breath and life, I was free to go
Yet her touch had spoiled me, all my goods were gone
I awoke with nothing at the coming of the dawn

As you drink and fête yourself now you know my lot
For you are all exhausted but I am fresh and hot
There are hoards of treasure, many things of gold
Some are far way you see and some are close I’m told

My gentle lord and ladies fill now up your dreams
Do not worry for yourselves while this song I sing
Yet, my performance now is ended, I’ve made my last appeal
As you dwell in slumber then away to home I’ll steal…

About Jack

BRIEF BIO: Jack Gunter is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and songs. He is the co-owner of Open Door Communications, a copywriter, an inventor, and a former broker and private investigator. He is a naturalist and an amateur scientist and cryptologist. He likes to compose music and to design and play games and puzzles of all types. He homeschooled his children. He lives in the Upstate of South Carolina with his beautiful wife, talented two daughters, his old friend and Great Dane Sam, and his three Viking Cats.

Posted on September 16, 2014, in Character/Character Development, Fantasy, Gaming, History, Literature, MY WRITINGS AND WORK, Role Play, RPG, Uncategorized, Writings and Verse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Wyrdwend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

