ONE LAST FIGHT BEFORE THE DARK…

Well, it’s that season (Fall and the approach of Fall) when my thoughts naturally turn to Conan. This happens almost every year.

Maybe it’s the way I grew up and what I grew up reading as a kid but every Autumn it’s the same thing, my mind hungers for Conan (Conan often isn’t even that well written, I prefer Solomon Kane for the stories and I associate more with Kane, but in autumn I want Conan), and John Carter of Mars, and Tarzan, and Doc Savage, and so forth.

Every Autumn though, as a kid, I used to consume Conan and Carter and Tarzan and Savage adventure stories. I didn’t want high fantasy (like LOTR ), or sci-fi (that’s Spring material to me), or any of that stuff, but I always wanted adventure and fighting and gore and creeping monsters and often horror stories, like Lovecraft (though often I’ll read Lovecraft in winter too).

The coolness of the weather, the clearness and yet distance of the moon at night, the shortened days, the smell of blood on the air, the fading grass. The trees becoming bare, the call of birds moving South, and the sight of hunting raptors on the wind. Dark storm clouds. Just something about Autumn. It’s like the dying of the light.

You get in one last good fight before the darkness.

What do you prefer to read in the Fall?

About Jack

BRIEF BIO: Jack Gunter is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and songs. He is the co-owner of Open Door Communications, a copywriter, an inventor, and a former broker and private investigator. He is a naturalist and an amateur scientist and cryptologist. He likes to compose music and to design and play games and puzzles of all types. He homeschooled his children. He lives in the Upstate of South Carolina with his beautiful wife, talented two daughters, his old friend and Great Dane Sam, and his three Viking Cats.

Posted on September 6, 2014, in Action-Adventure, Commentary, Fantasy, Information, MY WRITINGS AND WORK, Non-Fiction, Real World, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve never thought about it like that. I always just read something related to what I’m writing, or whatever’s selling really well that season, or whatever’s on the bookshelf, or… well you get the idea.

    I do think autumn is the best season for reading and writing though, something about everything changing and settling down makes me want to explore my imagination.

    Like

    • It’s like that for me too. With Autumn I start to turn in upon myself and back to my own mind, whereas in Spring and Summer my body is most busy. But before that happens I think adventure stories like Conan and John Carter remind me of what is passing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

