BEST GAME AND FIRST GAME

I got my new copy of the 5th Edition of the Player’s Handbook last Saturday, August 23rd, 2014.

I’ve been reading and re-reading it over the past week and it is by far the best edition of the Dungeons and Dragons games I’ve ever seen, especially when it comes to character design and development, going all the way back to the original rule set, which I also have and used to play. So I’m really looking forward to seeing what they do with the Monster Manual and the Dungeon Master’s Guide.

I’ll be writing up a full review later on but I am extremely pleased with what I have seen and play tested (I took part in the design playtesting phase) thus far.

This weekend my family and I will be playing our first real game of the Fifth Edition rule set and we’re all looking forward to that, especially my oldest daughter (who really likes the game). I think my youngest daughter will also very much like the character development set of rules as she is a natural performer. My oldest daughter said to me that she thinks they will all be creating multi-class characters, which is fine by me, as I’ve always liked multi-class characters.

I’ll also be rolling up three characters which I’ll be eventually playing but for now I’ll be using them as NPC back-up/support characters to assist whatever characters my family develops. The characters I’ve already envisioned are here: My First Character, and Character Development.

Should be a really nice time of play and family fun and a great Labor Day weekend.

P.S.: My youngest daughter just brought me a sketch of a sentence she wrote in “dragon-script” from the new edition (5th Edition) of the Dungeons and Dragons game. She wrote and transcribed it all by free hand as she was developing her character and was quite excited about it.

She did an excellent and very neatly artistic job of it and it was quite impressive. I think this game will teach them many skills (artistic, map-reading, preparation, survival methods, problem-solving, team-work, math, etc.) as it did for me, and will be very good for their overall imaginations and creativity.

About Jack

BRIEF BIO: Jack Gunter is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and songs. He is the co-owner of Open Door Communications, a copywriter, an inventor, and a former broker and private investigator. He is a naturalist and an amateur scientist and cryptologist. He likes to compose music and to design and play games and puzzles of all types. He homeschooled his children. He lives in the Upstate of South Carolina with his beautiful wife, talented two daughters, his old friend and Great Dane Sam, and his three Viking Cats.

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Character/Character Development, Commentary, Fantasy, Game Design, Information, MY WRITINGS AND WORK, Role Play, RPG, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

